Home |  Log In


Add to Cart:


  • Format: CD [LCD1051]
  • Shipping Weight: 0.1kg
  • Label: Lovely Music

'1995 release. Originally released in 1971. Key contains Meredith Monk's earliest compositions for voice. The songs that make up Key were composed and performed in a three year period between 1967 and 1970, when Monk collected them into this 45-minute "invisible theater" experience. Meredith Monk on the release: "In Key I wanted to create a constantly shifting ambience. Each song dealt with a different vocal character, landscape, technical concern or emotional quality. I was trying for a visceral, kinetic song form that had the abstract qualities of a painting or a dance. I knew that I didn't want to set music to a text; for me, the voice itself was a language which seemed to speak more eloquently than words. I chose certain phonemes for their particular sound qualities. In a sense, each song became a world in itself with its own timbre, texture and impulse." Personnel: Meredith Monk - voice, organ, jews harp; Daniel Ira Sverdlik, Dick Higgins, Collin Walcott, Lanny Harrison, Mark Monstermaker - voices.'

1 Porch 2:16
2 Under Street 4:19
3 What Does It Mean? 3:58
4 Vision 1:16
5 Fat Stream 7:28
6 Vision 2:03
7 Do You Be? 4:12
8 Vision 0:36
9 Chance 3:45
10 Dungeon 6:49

Art Direction – Paul Gruwell
Design – Ariel Peeri
Engineer – Daniel Nagrin, Peter Pilafian, Tom Clack
Engineer, Mixed By – John Horton
Executive-Producer – Ron Jacobs
Percussion [Mrdingam], Producer [Production Supervisor] – Collin Walcott
Photography By – Peter Moore
Technician [Technical Consultant] – Gary Harris
Voice [Companion] – Collin Walcott, Daniel Ira Sverdlik, Dick Higgins
Voice [Travelling], Jew's Harp, Organ [Electric] – Meredith Monk
Voice [Vision Monologues] – Lanny Harrison, Mark Berger

All music written 1967-70, recorded July 1970 - Jan. 1971.
Originally released on LP in 1971 by Increase Records.

 | Home |