BERNHARD LANG : DW 16 (Songbook I)

  • Format: LP [GOD28]
  • Shipping Weight: 0.44lbs
  • Label: God


Add to Cart:
'enny Renate Wicke, mezzo-soprano. Trio Accanto with Yukiko Sugawara, piano. Marcus Weiss, saxophone. Christian Dierstein, percussion. GODrec is very proud to announce a series of pieces by Bernhard Lang,Differenz/Wiederholung – DW (Difference/Repetition). DW is an on-going cycle of Lang’s pieces, where composer explores possibilities of loops and repetitions, which became his compositional trademark. Songbook I is another piece where Lang highly involves his patterns from Jazz and Pop music, transformed through “damaged beats”. For many years one of my main influences beside the work of Philip Jeck were the movies of Martin Arnold: they more or less became the trigger for the series of pieces called Difference/Repetition. For the development of the DW series four conceptual components were essential:
1. the visual appearance of the repetition in the video / film,
2. philosophy of repetition in Deleuze,
3. the use of loops in the improvised music (LaLeLoo, VLO), again by reference to video-couplings,
4. exploration of musical materials of different origins in electroacoustic Environments (CDP loop, granular, PD).'

A1 DW16.1_watch_tower
A2 DW16.2_ophelia
B1 DW16.3_count24
B2 DW16.4_burning_sis
B3 DW16.5_door
CD-1 DW16.1_watch_tower
CD-2 DW16.2_ophelia
CD-3 DW16.3_count24
CD-4 DW16.4_burning_sis
CD-5 DW16.5_door

Artwork – God
Mezzo-soprano Vocals – Jenny Renate Wicke
Percussion – Christian Dierstein
Piano – Yukiko Sugawara
Saxophone – Marcus Weiss
Sound Designer – Josh Martin

Copyright © 2022 parallax records