• Format: CD [SR409]
  • Shipping Weight: 0.08lbs
  • Label: Sub Rosa


Sold Out
Milan Knizak and Opening Performance Orchestra revisit Knizak's 1979 Broken Music (SR 400LP) in Berlin, 2014. "In 2008-9 we transferred the original recording from vinyl records into digital form. As we did so, we weren't interested in the precise, clean fidelity offered by the digital world, which fundamentally causes the fine structure of natural sound to be lost. Instead we were seeking the opposite: the world of errors and distortion, which remains hidden when digital audio is manipulated to be maximally accommodating for the listener. The transferred audio recording was digitally destroyed, shattered and uncompromisingly freed from all its original attributes. No melody, no rhythm, no harmony -- this is fraction music." Part one, "Broken Music," features Knizak with Phaerentz performing with turntables and broken records, CD players and CDs, cassette players and cassettes, and keyboard. Part two, "Re:Broken Music," features Opening Performance Orchestra performing with five laptops and "fraction music (broken section, re:broken section, fraction section)." Digipak with 20-page booklet.

- label's site -
- sample -

Track Listing:
Disc 1
1. Broken Music 45:00
2. Re:Broken Music 33:00

Copyright © 2022 parallax records