Home |  Log In

PAUL RUTHERFORD : Solo in Berlin 1975

Add to Cart:


  • Format: CD [EMANEM4144]
  • Shipping Weight: 0.1kg
  • Label: Emanem

Recorded a year after his acclaimed masterpiece, THE GENTLE HARM OF THE BOURGEOISIE, these three festival sets are at least as good. They find Rutherford at his most original and inventive, making wild music by enhancing his trombone with his voice, with mutes and other objects, as well as using his awesome speed and stunning range. No-one else has made the trombone sound like this, before or since. 75 minutes. 5 minutes originally on an FMP sampler - the rest is previously unissued.

1 Berlintro 9:35
2 Berl In Zil 5:22
3 A Song My Granny Taught Me 7:28
4 Not A Very Wonderful Ballad 5:45
5 Primus 16:20
6 Secundus 4:26
7 Tertius 13:14
8 Quartus 12:24

Recorded At – Akademie der Künste, Berlin
Recorded At – Quartier Latin, Berlin

Photography By – Jak Kilby
Recorded By – Jost Gebers
Trombone – Paul Rutherford

Tracks 1-4 recorded on 31 March 1975 during FMP Workshop Freie Musik at Akademie der Künste, Berlin;
Tracks 5-8 recorded at FMP Total Music Meeting at Quartier Latin, Berlin, 5-6 on 7 November 1975 and 7-8 on 8 November 1975

 | Home |