• Format: CD [mm-022CD]
  • Shipping Weight: 0.1lbs
  • Label: m=minimal


Sold Out
"As German minimalist composer Ernstalbrecht Stiebler celebrates his 80th birthday in 2014, the M=minimal label honors the work of this master of reduction with its third release dedicated exclusively to his work. In contrast to other modern composers that use avant-garde special effects, Stiebler builds his compositions around small sound spaces. Stiebler's compositional works are characterized by minimalist reduction, emphasizing individual sounds that open up and engage with each other. As the composer himself said in an interview, his music is not intended to be easy. He demands a certain concentration of his listeners. Once you accept it, you get rewarded with shifted time perception. A piece lasting 15 minutes in duration can be perceived as 45 minutes. During his early studies of composition and piano in 1959 and 1960, Stiebler received suggestions from Karlheinz Stockhausen. Throughout his career, he's worked as an editor for numerous contemporary music publications. He has composed works for Ensemble Modern and supervised recordings by Morton Feldman, John Cage, Alvin Lucier, Giacinto Scelsi, Earle Brown and Christian Wolff. German broadcaster Hessischer Rundfunk commissioned him to compose an orchestral work. As his music has gained more attention in recent years, his works have been performed at many festivals, including CTM, MaerzMusik and Mutek, and a three day festival was organized in Berlin for his 80th birthday."

- samples -

1 Im Atem 11:03
Electronics ? Ernstalbrecht Stiebler
2 Schwebend 11:54
Cello ? Agnieszka Dziubak
3 Quart Solo 7:22
Piano ? Ernstalbrecht Stiebler
4 Mit Der Zeit 24:11
Contrabass ? Werner Dafeldecker
Synthesizer ? Ernstalbrecht Stiebler

Composed By ? Ernstalbrecht Stiebler

Copyright © 2020 parallax records