LES SIX : Le Groupe Des Six - Selected Works 1915-1945

  • Format: 2CD [LTMCD2533]
  • Shipping Weight: 0.12lbs
  • Label: LTM


Sold Out
This 160 minute 2xCD anthology features selected piano and orchestral works by Les Six composed between 1915 and 1945, including collaborations with Jean Cocteau, Guillaume Apollinaire, Max Jacob, Marcelle Meyer and Denise Duval. Highlights include a digitally remastered cast recording of the Surrealistic opera Les Mamelles de Tiresias, co-created by Francis Poulenc and Apollinaire, and new recordings of Dada-related works performed by Peter Beijersbergen van Henegouwen.

All selections were recorded between 1928 and 2007, and include several personally performed or conducted by the composers themselves. The booklet includes archive images and historical notes by James Hayward.

2xCD tracklist:

Disc 1
1. L'Album des Six
2. Francis Poulenc Mouvements perpetuels
3. Arthur Honegger Trois pieces pour piano
4. Darius Milhaud Caramel mou (Shimmy)
5. Georges Auric Adieu, New York
6. Francis Poulenc Les Biches
Le Bestiaire; Huit nocturnes
Quinze improvisations pour piano
Caprice (Le Bal masque)
7. Darius Milhaud Scaramouche
8. Germaine Tailleferre Ouverture
9. Louis Durey Le printemps au fond de la mer

Disc 2
1. Darius Milhaud La creation du monde
2. Arthur Honegger Prelude, Fugue et Postlude
3. Francis Poulenc Les Mamelles de Tiresias

Copyright © 2024 parallax records