AFTERNOON SAINTS : The Shirley Jangle

  • Format: 2LP [KED05]
  • Shipping Weight: 0.57lbs
  • Label: Kraak


Sold Out
"This three-sided LP is a unique collaboration by some extraordinary talents, working under the moniker of the Afternoon Saints, better known individually as Lee Renaldo (Sonic Youth), David Watson, Christian Marclay and Gunter Muller. The Shirley Jangle is an intimate and subtle meeting place of noise, sound art and experimental improvisation. Three sides of bubbling audio biosphere and a fourth side etching by Lee Renaldo, made specifically for this release. The album was recorded at the famed Echo Canyon Studio, on Murray Street, in downtown New York, mixed and edited by the one and only Jim O'Rourke." Super deluxe, beautiful gatefold sleeve with full color printed inner sleeves.

- Shirley 1
A1 Experiment At Faun Backlash 17:20
A2 The Shirley Jangle 4:14
- Shirley 2
B1 A Fancy Picture Smells Faintly Like A Little Mouse Fidgeting 8:50
B2 Bedside Accurate 11:36
- Shirley 3
C1 Some Static Skywave 13:40
C2 Round Trip Trinket 8:50
- Shirley 4

Artwork [Drawings: Mound Series, 2008] ? Leah Singer
Artwork [Side 4 Etching] ? Lee Ranaldo
Band [Afternoon Saints], Bagpipes, Guitar ? David Watson
Band [Afternoon Saints], Guitar, Electronics ? Lee Ranaldo
Band [Afternoon Saints], Percussion [Selected Percussion], Sounds [Minidiscs], Electronics ? Gunter Muller
Band [Afternoon Saints], Turntables ? Christian Marclay
Mixed By ? Mullan (tracks: A2, C2), Watson (tracks: A2, C2), Jim O'Rourke (tracks: A1, B1 to C1), Ranaldo (tracks: A2, C2)
Recorded By ? Aaron Mullan

Recorded May 2001 at Echo canyon (NYC, USA).
Tracks A1, B1 to C1 mixed August 2001 at Echo Canyon (NYC, USA).
Tracks A2 & C2 mixed June 2008 at Echo Canyon West (NYC, USA).

Lee Ranaldo's etching from Black Noise series.
Limited edition of 500 copies. LP's housed in a gatefold sleeve.

Copyright © 2024 parallax records