• Format: CD [RCD2204]
  • Shipping Weight: 0.09lbs
  • Label: Rune Grammofon


Sold Out
'Composed, performed, mixed, and produced by Maja S. K. Ratkje, Sult is based upon Ratkje´s music created for the ballet Sult ("Hunger") by director Jo Stromgren for the Norwegian National Ballet. This is a departure from the records and live settings normally associated with Ratkje, as we find her placed behind a modified, wiggly and out-of-tune pump organ, singing songs and improvising. Metal tubes, PVC tubes and a wind machine were built into the organ; guitar strings, a bass string, a resin thread, metal and glass percussion and a bow are also utilized. With little or no previous experience, she had to learn to play the thing live, using both hands and feet at the same time as singing. Maja played live on stage during every performance, but later modified and recorded the music especially for this record, with Frode Haltli co-producing. It´s a freestanding document, an entity of its own, but the atmosphere is very much the same as in the play: the dusty city of Kristiania in the 19th century, the street noises and the sounds.'

1 Introduksjon ? Denne Forunderlige By 5:30
2 Sja, Amioda ? Og Ikke En Lyd Kom Mig Fra Strupen 4:27
3 Den Sprattende Bevagelse Min Fot Gjor Hver Gang Pulsen Slar 7:34
4 Sayago ? En Sadan Glidende Lyd 3:15
5 En Traflis A Tygge Pa 3:17
6 Oine Som Rasilke, Armer Av Rav 5:47
7 Et Hvitt Fyrtarn Midt I Et Grumset Menneskehav Hvor Vrak Flot Om 4:12
8 Jeg Fornemmer Mine Sko Som En Sagte Susende Tone Imot Meg 3:31
9 Kristiania 3:38

Co-producer [Co-produced By] ? Frode Haltli
Composed By, Performer [Performed By], Mixed By, Producer [Produced By] ? Maja S. K. Ratkje
Mastered By ? Morgan Nicolaysen
Recorded By ? Hagen Rormark
Sleeve ? Kim Hiorthoy

recorded at the norwegian national opera and ballet, may 2018

Copyright © 2022 parallax records