RYOJI IKEDA : 1000 Fragments

  • Format: CD [r-n089]
  • Shipping Weight: 0.09lbs
  • Label: Raster-Noton


Sold Out
1000 Fragments is Ryoji Ikeda's first solo album, originally released in 1995 on Ikeda's own CCI label. As early as 1995, leading Japanese computer-manipulated sound composer Ikeda started his exploratory work with digital sound design, having an inspirational impact on the founders of the Raster-Noton label. 1000 Fragments encapsulates the early parts of Ikeda's career, from the mid-'80s through the early/mid-'90s, in three different subsections: Channel X (1985-95), 5 Zones (1994-95) and Luxus (1993). An early review from www.full-albums.net characterizes 1000 Fragments as such: "The first piece, consisting of several short parts (bursts?), snaps the listener around a jumble of sound fragments from TV, NASA, radio, film, raw electronics and computer-generated tones, and so on. It's rather disorienting stuff... more like something you'd expect out of The Hafler Trio, and actually sort of out of character with the rest of the disc. As for the rest of the disc, it's taken up with two long works, which I assume involve computer-generated sound but which have the lushness one more associates with analog electronics. Both are longish ambient works, but instead of featuring static repetitive structures, these unfold in an intriguing manner, like a long, slow drive across a very sparse landscape. As opposed to the initial work here, these are definitely the 'meat' of this disc, and anyone looking for some fine ambient work with perhaps a bit of an edge would do well to check this out."

- Channel X (1985-1995)
1 Testone 0:06
2 Trans-missions 1:36
3 This Is A Recording 0:50
4 Radiorange 0:28
5 What's Wrong? 0:58
6 Holy Wood 0:35
7 Into The Tranquility 3:04
8 All Has Been Changed 0:37
9 Abstructures 2:54
- 5 Zones (1994-95)
10 Zone 1 7:47
11 Zone 2 4:51
12 Zone 3 2:56
13 Zone 4 6:50
14 Zone 5 8:45
- Luxus (1993)
15 Luxus 1-3 16:18

This album was originaly released on CCI Recordings in Japan, February 1995.

Copyright © 2024 parallax records